The Will to Change

2 Comments

I was thinking about a friend the other day, concerning their health and fitness, and my heart just begin to break. Now understand, my thinking was not judgemental. God has placed a passion in my heart to help believers live a life of health and fitness. It’s about more than just losing weight and looking good physically. That’s not what life is all about; although, it can prove to be a major part of living an optimal life.

Paul said, “Physical training is good, but training for godliness is much better, promising benefits in this life and in the life to come.” (1 Timothy 4:8) So, he gave physical training some level of importance here. However, in Romans, he pled,”…give your bodies to God because of all He has done for you. Let them be a living and holy sacrifice—the kind He will find acceptable. This is truly the way to worship him.” (v. 12:1) So of course, while godliness is most important, being good stewards of our bodies is also important. So my call to this field does not only concern the physical body, it is a Kingdom Call.

There are a few people around me right now that I love dearly and want to help in the area of their health and fitness. I’ve even offered my services pro brono for a limited amount of time to a couple people that I’m really close to. I’m not willing to do that for many people, but because I love them and want to see them living a life of purpose free of obesity related restraints, I am willing to do that. They have also invested in me one way or another and I’m happy to sow back into them. But, after some time, seeing that my offer was not being taken advantage of, I began to take it a little personal. Nothing to do with me or my abilities as a trainer, but because I really care that much. (And I’m not implying that they have to accept my help. They could go about changing their life a completely different way, through completely different means, and I’m okay with that.) But what I’ve found is that there is no amount of love that can go against a person’s will to change. People must want to change and they must be willing to do what’s necessary to change.

This must be how the Father feels when it comes to His creation. His word says that He is not willing that any should perish.(2 Peter 3:9) He has offered His unconditional love through salvation, free of charge, yet so many are not taking advantage of it. At the end of the day, He cannot go against our will, no matter how much He loves us. And it has nothing to do with Him. Every person has to choose whether they want Him or not.

My husband was talking to a young man the other day and he revealed his struggles with living for the Lord. The man mentioned, “I just don’t want God right now. I have no desire for Him.” I think many times we think that the decisions that we need to make have to involve emotion or desire. And that’s just not true. There are plenty decisions in life that we must make whether we want to or not, whether they make us feel good or not, and choosing God is no exception.

For years, I lived my life as a Christian while lacking any real emotion towards God. Jesus was my Savior. God was my Creator. Holy Spirit was my helper. But I didn’t have a revelation yet of God as my Abba and Jesus as my friend.  Eventually, I got a hold of some true Christian worship and I begin to get upset and cry out, “Lord, I want the same love that they have for you! I want to fall in love with you! Lord I want to be a worshipper!” And guess what? It started to happen. I began to see my passion and love for the Lord increase. There were times when I would feel as if my heart would explode out of hunger for Him. I was falling deeply in love my with Daddy.

It is the same way with health and fitness. Initially, it’s simply about a choice – A will to do. A will to change. A will to be a good steward of our bodies. A will to keep a clean and honorable temple to house Holy Spirit. A will to break the generational cycle of obesity and obesity related diseases in our family. A will to stay attractive to our spouse. A will to save money on unnecessary doctor’s bills and prescription medicine. The will to make it up a flight of stairs without gasping for breath. The emotions will come later. I am not saying that just because the choice is made that it will be easy. Some days will be very hard, especially when you are undoing years of living a certain way. But by the help of Holy Spirit, you will have the strength to go. (see Psalms 71:16)

My prayer for you today is that if you are struggling with change in your health and fitness, the Lord will grant you the revelation of the importance of your health and help you to make a committed decision to change. I pray that strongholds and past experiences that have hindered you and held you back will be broken now in the name of Jesus. I pray that you will not waver back and forth on an on again/off again roller coaster, but you will have the power to persevere beyond your emotions. I decree that you will live a life of Kingdom Purpose: A life mentally, physically, and spiritually fit for kingdom duty! In Jesus’ Name! 

Blessings in Health & Fitness,

Lakeshia Momon

Author: Lakeshia Momon

Health & Fitness Coach. Certified Personal Trainer. Owner at KingdomFit Training. Author. I help the body of Christ get fit for Kingdom Duty.

2 thoughts on “The Will to Change

  1. Love this! Very motivating. I will to change in Jesus Name!

    Like

Leave a Reply

